UTmail+: Configuring Thunderbird (Mac)


Please note: When you log in to UTmail+ through a web browser, your login is managed by the University of Toronto. Any means of accessing the UTmail+ service other than through a web browser will securely transmit your UTORid and password through Microsoft’s systems.

Configure Thunderbird 24 for UTmail+

  1. If you are using Thunderbird for the first time, you may see the Import Wizard window. Click Skip this and use an existing email You should then see the Mail Account Setup window. If you don't, you can add a new account by going to File > New > Existing Mail Account.

    Thunderbird Mail Account Setup
  2. Type your full name under Your name.
  3. Type your email address under Email address (usually of the form "firstname.lastname@mail.utoronto.ca")
  4. Click Continue.
  5. Thunderbird will gather information and display some default settings. These settings must be changed.
    • Username: this is the same as your email address (usually of the form "firstname.lastname@mail.utoronto.ca").
    • Beside Incoming:
      • Type outlook.office365.com
      • Choose IMAP
      • Type 993
      • Choose SSL/TLS
      • Choose Normal password
    • Beside Outgoing:
      • Type smtp.office365.com
      • Type 587
      • Choose STARTTLS
      • Choose Normal password
  6. Your settings should look similar to this:

    Thunderbird Mail Account settings
  7. Click Done.

Regarding deleted emails: by default Thunderbird moves deleted emails to the local Trash folder. This folder is not accessible from the online interface.

Further settings are required for optimum performance using Thunderbird for UTmail+.

Note: These are the recommended settings for ensuring the smoothest experience in using Thunderbird for UTmail+.

    1. Open Tools > Account Settings and under the UTmail+ account, click Server Settings.
    2. Click Advanced.

      Thunderbird Advanced Button
    3. In the new window, uncheck Show only subscribed folders, then click OK to return to Server Settings.

      Advanced Settings
    4. In the left pane, select Outgoing Server (SMTP). From here, select the smtp.office365.com server and click Edit.
    5. In the new screen, enter the following information if it's not already there:
      • Server Name: smtp.office365.com
      • Port: 587
      • Connection Security: STARTTLS
      • Authentication Method: Normal Password
      • Username: this is the same as your email address (usually of the form "firstname.lastname@mail.utoronto.ca")

      Outgoing server settings

    6. Click OK to get back to Account Settings.
    7. Click OK to save the settings.
    8. Restart Thunderbird and then click Get Mail.

Further settings are required after Thunderbird has downloaded all your messages and you can see all your email folders.

Note: These are the recommended settings for how Thunderbird deals with deleted messages.

      1. Open Tools > Account Settings and under your UTmail+ account, choose Server Settings. You should see Thunderbird's default settings.
      2. Under Server Settings, find the line that says When I delete a message: and select Move it to this folder. Select Deleted Items from the drop-down menu.

        Thunderbird default settings
      3. Your deleted emails will be in Deleted Items and accessible from Thunderbird or any other email software, as well as in the web interface. In order to empty Deleted Items, simply right-click on it and choose Empty Trash.

Thunderbird saves sent messages in a different folder than the online interface at mail.utoronto.ca. If you wish all sent emails to be saved in the same location, such as the Sent Items folder, follow the steps below.

    1. Go to the Tools menu and choose Account Settings.
    2. In the left pane, choose Copies & Folders under your account.
    3. In the right pane, under When sending messages, automatically: you should see Place a copy in.
    4. Select Other and select your email account. You should see a list of folders, including Sent Items. Choose Sent Items.

      Thunderbird Exchange Sent Items settings
    5. Click OK to save the settings.
Last update:
2016-10-19 11:01
Author:
Luke Sutherland
Revision:
1.7
Average rating: 4 (3 Votes)

You can comment this FAQ

Records in this category

Tags