Deleting folders using Thunderbird.


You must be configured to use IMAP for this to work and you must not be using a Trash folder for deleted messages.

You must be able to see all your folders for this to work
Make sure you can see your remote folders. You should see them on the left hand side of the screen. If not, you will need to place your cursor over the vertical bar at left. The cursor should change in a double arrow: <->. While pressing down on the left button of your mouse, drag the vertical bar to the right until you can see your folders.

You cannot be using the Trash folder when deleting folders
Once you have deleted your folders, you can switch back to using a Trash folder. If you are not using a Trash folder, you can skip to the Deleting folders in Thunderbird section below.

  1. Select Account Settings from the Tools menu.
  2. You must be looking at your UTORmail server account. Click on the entry which reads something like: Mail for your.account@mailboxNN.utcc.utoronto.ca (where NN is your configuration number).
  3. Click on Server Settings (under the Mail for your.account@mailboxNN.utcc.utoronto.ca).
  4. Change When I delete a message from Move it to the Trash folder to Mark it as deleted.
    Make sure you do not have a check mark beside Clean up (Expunge) Inbox on Exit.
  5. Click OK.
  6. You are now ready to delete folders.

Deleting folders in Thunderbird

  1. Click on the folder you wish to delete. NOTE: Any messages inside it will also be deleted!
  2. Click on the Delete button or select Delete Folder from the Edit menu.
  3. Click OK in the confimation window.

If you had used the Trash folder before, you can now switch back to using it

  1. You must be looking at your UTORmail server account. Click on the entry which reads something like: Mail for your.account@mailboxNN.utcc.utoronto.ca (where NN is your configuration number)
  2. Click on View Settings for this account.
  3. On the left side of the screen, Click on Server Settings (under the Mail for your.account@mailboxNN.utcc.utoronto.ca).
  4. Change When I delete a message from Mark it as deleted to Move it to the Trash folder. Make sure you do not have a check mark beside Empty Trash Exit unless you had this before.
  5. Click OK.

 

Tags: UTORmail
Last update:
2010-08-12 15:43
Author:
Ron Tyro
Revision:
1.183
Average rating: 2.88 (8 Votes)

You can comment this FAQ