Sharing your default Contacts folder with specific people – Outlook 2007 and up


You can share your default Contacts folder. The first set of instructions are for giving view only privileges. The second set of instructions are for giving a variety of permission levels. The last set of instructions show how to change permissons or revoke permissions.

Give read only permissions to recipients

  1. Click on Contacts in the Navigation pane.
  2. Click Share My Contacts folder in Outlook 2007 or Share Contacts in Outlook 2010 or Outlook 2013.
  3. A message composition window will pop up for the sharing invitation message. Type the recipient's name in the To box.
  4. You can modify the Subject or leave it as it is.
  5. Make sure there is a check mark next to Allow recipient to view your Contacts folder.
  6. You can also request to share the recipient's Contacts folder by clicking Request permission to veiw recipient's Contacts folder.
  7. In the message body enter any additional information.
  8. Click Send.
  9. Review the message in the confirmation window and click OK .

When the sharing invitation message is opened by the recipient, they will be able to see the Contacts folder by clicking on Open this Contacts folder. The newly shared Contacts folder will be under People's Contacts.

Give a variety of permissions to users

  1. Click on Contacts in the Navigation pane.
  2. Right-click on the Contacts folder and select Sharing Permissions (Share Permissions in 2013).  The Contacts Properties window will appear.
  3. Select the Permissions tab, if it is not already selected.
  4. To add a User, click Add. The Add Users window will appear.
  5. In the Search box, type in the user's name.  Select it from the results list and click Add. When finished, click OK.
  6. Select the appropriate permissions level from the Permissions Level menu.
  7. Review the permissions: Read, Write, Delete Items, Other, and apply any adjustments.
  8. If you will be adding more users, click Apply and then go back to Step 4. Otherwise click OK to save your changes or Cancel to discard any changes.

 

Change or revoke the permissions to users

  1. Click on Contacts in the Navigation pane.
  2. Right-click on the Contacts folder and select Sharing Permissions(Share Permissions in 2013). The Contacts Properties window will pop-up.
  3. Select the Permissions tab, if it is not already selected.
  4. Select the Name.
  5. To revoke permissions, select None from the Permissions Level.
  6. To change permissions, select the appropriate permissions level from the Permissions Level menu.  Review the permissions: Read, Write, Delete Items, Other, and apply any adjustments.
  7. If you will be changing more users, click Apply and then go back to Step 4. Otherwise click OK to save your changes or Cancel to discard any changes. 
Tags: Outlook 2007, Outlook 2010, Outlook 2013, Outlook 2016, UTORexchange
Last update:
2016-06-17 22:37
Author:
Ron Tyro
Revision:
1.7
Average rating:0 (0 Votes)

You can comment this FAQ