Shared Mailbox - Giving Delegate Access to Others using UTORGrouper


If you are the owner of a Shared Mailbox and wish to delegate access, you can only grant access to those who have a UTmail+ account.

You must modify management groups for the shared mailbox to include people or groups who require delegate access.

When you go to My Groups, you will see multiple groups for a single Shared Mailbox. The groups have names like mailbox.name-utoronto.ca-FullWithComposemailbox.name-utoronto.ca-FullWithComposeNoAutoMap, and mailbox.name-utoronto.ca-Owner. 

Each group gives different levels of permissions to the members of that group. See the description below to determine what group a new member should be added to:

management groups

  • FullWithCompose gives the user the ability to read, delete and change items in the mailbox, as well as to be able to send on behalf of the Shared Mailbox. Using Automap, the Shared Mailbox will automatically appear in Outlook 2016 for Windows for anyone with permissions to it.
  • FullWithComposeNoAutoMap allows the user to set up the account as the default or primary account in Outlook.
  • Owner can only request to grant or remove people's access to the account.

Modify Groups

Add members

  1. Log into utorgrouper.utoronto.ca.

    UTORGrouper screen shot

  2. Click My groups. Under Groups I manage, click on the group you'd like to modify.
  3. Click Add members.
  4. Type the email address or UTORid of the person you would like to add. Choose their name from the dropdown. Please note that if you accidentally click somewhere other than on the name, you may have to delete the contents of the search field and retype it.

    UTORGrouper search

  5. Select Default privileges and click Add.
  6. Those people who have been granted access will need to set up their email clients. Instructions are available under the section Opening a Shared Mailbox on the Shared Mailboxes page.

Remove members

  1. Log into utorgrouper.utoronto.ca.
  2. Click My groups. Under Groups I manage, click on the group you'd like to modify.
  3. Select the checkbox next to a member's name and click Remove selected members.
Last update:
2019-03-08 15:40
Author:
Amanda Wagner
Revision:
1.3
Average rating:0 (0 Votes)

You can comment this FAQ

Records in this category

Tags